how-to turn off the start-up sound on your MacBook

I recently acquire a MacBook for work.  It’s the first time I use a Mac and, despite my being a bit of a PC boff,  I’m not familiar with MacOS at all.  So this is a whole new learning curve for me.

Excited as I was to learn a new OS, I must say that the hideous start-up noise frayed my nerves no end, and it was only Day4.  There had to be an OFF button, but I had no idea where to find it.  Rather confusing because it should be obvious.  I’d heard rumours that Macs are dead easy to use, but this seemed really obscure.

So, being my usual resourceful self, I did some digging on the interwebs and found the solution.  I discovered that, MacOS X Hints is a great place to start when you are looking for Mac-related solutions.

So here it is!  Japanese company, Arcana, created the StartupSoundPrefPane100 application, which shuts the noise OFF!  TaDa! :)  The StartupSoundPrefPane100 link, above, is the dmg.gz file which downloads the app onto your machine.

What to do from here?

  1. Rootle around your downloads folder or search for the file in Finder.
  2. Open the folder and click on the StartupSoundPrefPane100.pkg file.  Doing this will install the file.
  3. Now go to your Systems Preferences folder and look for Startup Sound.  Mine is under “Other”.  The symbol for it looks like this: startup sound icon
  4. Click on it to open the app.
  5. Now you can untick “Turn on start volume control” to adjust the volume using the sliding scale, or tick “Mute” to turn it off altogether.  See below :

Screen Shot: Startup Sound Application

Screenshot of the Startup Sound application

And there you have it.  Great to know that there is a solution for every perceived problem!

Leave a Reply

